Pascoe’s pumping engine house was built in 1887 to house a 80-inch engine. This house has unique slit windows, that were believed to add strength to the building.
Both engines worked out of Pascoe’s shaft, which sits in front of the pumping engine, and reached a depth of at least 340-fathoms (621m). Three lodes were worked from this shaft, the Great Flat lode, North and Hamleys lodes.
The pumping engine was built by St Austell Foundry and originally worked at Old Shepherd’s mine, Newlyn East, in 1881. In 1916, the main cap at the top of the piston broke, destroying the engine almost entirely. The driver only just managed to escape the scalding steam in the house, hiding on one of the bob plats over the shaft before being rescued.
The engine was replaced by Worsley Mesnes and used the original beam.
The 1879 whim and stamps house sits just down the path from the pumping engine. This held a 30-inch engine.
The boiler house on south-east side would have held two Cornish boilers.
The stamps would have stood on the south side of the engine along with a few bundles.
Remains of the loadings and bedstones for the flywheel and winding drum.
Both Pascoe’s engines are on the same site as Marriot’s and are free to walk around. The buildings have been consolidated and the shafts capped.
Brown, K. and Acton, B. (2007) Exploring Cornish Mines: Volume One. 4th edn. Truro: Landfall.
Nance, D. and Brown, K. (2014) A complete guide to the engine houses of West Cornwall. Gloucestershire: Lightmoor Press.
Dines, H. G. (1956) The metalliferous mining regions of south-west England. British Geological Survey.